Bath & Body Works Aromatherapy Small Haul & First Impressions

30axrub

Before the Bath & Body Work’s semi-annual sale ended this month, there was a brief sale for $5 select Aromatherapy items. I wanted to try some of the scents, but I did not want to go overboard when I was placing my order online, since I barely remembered what they smelled like and wasn’t planning on heading back to the mall.

I thought that trying body creams was the best option, and I chose four different kinds: two “sleep,” one “sensual,” and one “stress relief.” In the sleep category, I ordered Lavender Chamomile and Lavender Vanilla. The sensual scent is Jasmine Vanilla, and the stress relief scent is Eucalyptus Tea. I also have a body care fragrance mist (signature collection – not Aromatherapy) in their stress relief scent Eucalyptus Spearmint, and a 3-wick candle in the same scent. I enjoyed this fragrance, so I figured I might like the others as well.

 

First Impressions

SLEEP:
I heard plenty of good things about these fragrances – enough to feel safe blind-buying them online when I couldn’t remember what any of them smelled like. I’d heard that they were effective in making people feel relaxed enough to drift into sleep. I have a hard time falling asleep most nights, and that is why I bought two scents in the “sleep” category and none in the “energy” category. Lavender Vanilla, in particular, seems to be a favorite among those that I asked about the Aromatherapy products.

What I get when I smell the Lavender Vanilla body cream, is not an overwhelming scent of lavender or vanilla. What the smell reminds me of is sun block my mother would make me wear as a child. It’s very “lotion-y,” which of course, can be expected of a thick body cream. However, lavender essential oil and vanilla absolute are listed as scent notes in this product, and what I imagined it would smell like is very far from the reality within this body cream. It’s not a bad scent, but since I am a fan of florals and vanillas in particular, it just wasn’t what I expected. I think I would have better luck trying this scent again in mist or gel form.

Out of all four of the scents I purchased, Lavender Chamomile instantly stood out to me as my favorite. I drink a lot of chamomile tea, so I’m familiar with the scent in that form. I wouldn’t say that I get that chamomile tea type of scent out of this body cream, but it is a very pleasant scent nonetheless. I was worried it would be too identical to the Lavender Vanilla, but they are really nothing alike. I could see wearing Lavender Chamomile just as a normal day-to-day fragrance, because it is lovely, but not too strong. It’s a clean, sort of perfume-like herbal scent that would be appropriate for any time of day, not just before bed.

What I really wanted to know: Do these products make me feel relaxed or drowsy? So far, I can’t say that these body creams have put me to sleep. Perhaps the pillow mist, or a combination of the Aromatherapy products in each scent would do the trick a lot better than just the body cream. I think I need to give each one a few more tries.
SENSUAL:
Jasmine Vanilla: Wow! The jasmine in this scent is a lot stronger than I thought it would be. I do pick up the vanilla note, but it’s a much more faint background scent. Does the fragrance inspire sensuality? Sure, if you or someone you like is a fan of jasmine, then I can see how this product would be very alluring. It is strong, and it is jasmine all the way! It doesn’t strike me as an everyday, all day type of scent; more of an evening, and cooler weather type of scent – but to each their own.
STRESS RELIEF:
Eucalyptus Tea: This scent doesn’t seem to be as powerful as the Eucalyptus Spearmint that I have in fragrance mist and candle form. Again, it could be because I chose body cream instead of a different type of product. This is still a really nice scent, and is a little similar to Eucalyptus Spearmint. I can also see how this would be a soothing scent. It gives off a natural, herbal, but medicinal vibe. This isn’t one that I would wear any time of day, or for any activity, but if I was feeling overwhelmed or sick, this is definitely something that I would grab after a shower. It’s a scent that screams “wellness” to me.

Leave a Reply

