Bath & Body Works: Pumpkin Cupcake

pcupcake

I made up my mind about Salted Caramel Pumpkin so quickly, I wanted to spend a little more time using Pumpkin Cupcake before dropping the gavel. It went on two trips with me, three fall outings, and I’ve lost count of how many birthdays. It’s become my go-to this season, so it’s safe to say that I like it a lot.

Pumpkin Cupcake is a new body care scent released for fall 2016 at Bath & Body Works. I have never purchased this scent in a candle, wallflower, or room perfume from this store, but I did purchase Pumpkin Cupcake in foaming hand soap and antibacterial form last fall. When I heard about the new body care coming out, I was really hoping that the scent would match these products.

I can’t say whether or not the Pumpkin Cupcake body cream or fragrance mist is identical to the home fragrances. It does, however, match the scent of the hand soap. The scent description lists pecan, vanilla, cinnamon, and orange zest, among other notes, and unlike Salted Caramel Pumpkin, I do pick up on these notes when I use these products. The orange zest and tart apple notes to me are a very subtle hint of fruity citrus in the background, but this fades as the vanilla cupcake in this scent takes over. The citrus doesn’t seem “out of place” to me like it has in other scents in the past. The cinnamon is not overpowering, and the pumpkin spice isn’t very distinct at all. The notes blend together into a uniquely sweet fall scent, despite there being plenty of vanillas and plenty of pumpkins to choose from for scented body care.

If you’re new to Bath & Body Works and you see Marshmallow Pumpkin Latte, and feel that it sounds too similar to Pumpkin Cupcake, it isn’t! These are two very different fragrances, and really, no two fall pumpkin scents from Bath & Body Works smell identical. Not to me, at least – this is just my take on them after huffing each one all season long.

The scent strength is moderate; maybe a 6 out of 10, likely because the cinnamon and pumpkin spice is so subtle. It’s there, but it’s fairly weak. The longevity of the scent is moderate as well. The scent doesn’t last as long as it did in hand soap form, which is what I grew to love about Pumpkin Cupcake, but it can still survive around three hours before reapplying the products. It’s not the powerhouse that Marshmallow Pumpkin Latte is to me. I can count on that one to be strong.

Pumpkin Cupcake made an impression on me when I picked it up in pocketbac form last year, which is why I returned for the hand soap, and why I picked up the body care items this fall. Different products tend to smell differently, and I will admit that I wish the body care line had the amount cinnamon scent that the pocketbac has. Since it is still essentially the same scent, I am happy to have these items in my collection and I would repurchase them if they returned next fall. I would recommend them to anyone that is a fan of sweet scents, particularly vanilla or bakery scents, pumpkin scents, or maybe fall scents in general.

One thought on “Bath & Body Works: Pumpkin Cupcake

Leave a Reply

