Bath & Body Works: Caramel Woods

carmwoods

Caramel Woods is a 14.5 ounce 3-wick candle from Bath & Body Works that retails for $22.50. It was a new release for the fall 2016 season, and as far as I know, it is not a repackage of any previous release. I am late in burning it this fall, but it is a unique candle that I am happy to have in my collection. This 3-wick may still be available in B&BW stores during the upcoming holiday sales, so keep an eye out if you are interested in purchasing it this year.

I was drawn to this candle because its packaging is gorgeous and festive (and I intend to save the jar for fall decor once it’s finished burning) and because its name stood out to me as it is an original combination. I can’t say that I’ve ever smelled caramel and wood together in a home fragrance before. At first, all I could smell on cold sniff was caramel and toffee with a very faint background note of wood. An hour or two into its first burn, I started picking up on a strong oak scent. Its more of a real wood or tree type of scent note, and it wasn’t artificial smelling to me at all. It was very pleasant. The caramel note was the same caramel scent from the Pumpkin Caramel Swirl fragrance I purchased from Bath & Body Works this fall, and I really liked the caramel and wood duo as I got used to it. It definitely needs to heat up for the full effect.

My instincts were about right about this candle. It was perfect for a late fall burn after a slew of pumpkins and spices. I found that the candle was true to its description, which is not always the case when reading a candle’s scent notes and trying to detect them as its burning. Caramel, toffee, oak, and tonka bean were all detectable to me in this candle in different amounts. Caramel is the most dominant scent to me in this 3-wick, but the wood is strong  too as the wax melts; about a 60/40 split. The toffee and the tonka bean complement each dominant note respectively. It isn’t too sweet like some other foodie scents are, so one likely wouldn’t be compelled to rush out and eat caramels after burning this candle.

The scent strength and throw for Caramel Woods is about a 7 to 7.5 out of 10 while burning in the bedroom. I would burn this outside of the fall season as well, during winter and perhaps during cool spring nights. The only time I probably wouldn’t reach for this candle would be hot summer days, as this scent and its strength would not be pleasant to me in humidity. I would repurchase this candle if it returned next fall and save it for later in the year again.

cwood

One thought on “Bath & Body Works: Caramel Woods

  1. Mmm, that sounds nice, and I’m typically not one for anything that features leaf or woods-type notes. But I totally get what you mean, and I suspect that’s why I’m drawn to this candle – I am SO freaking pumpkin’d out, man! And apple – please no more apple scents, I can’t take it. Turns out I never liked them much in the first place. Love the jar on this one – I hope you do get to reuse it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

