Blogmas 2016 Day 9: Winter Art

There isn’t any specific type of art that I favor the most. I appreciate it in all forms, from all eras and regions. I have a few candles that I keep on display simply because I adore the graphic art attached to their jars. There is something about the way winter is portrayed in artwork that gives me a sense of peace and makes me think of Christmas, and of all the joyous days leading up to it. I basically live in a Winter Wonderland, so I suppose it makes sense that I am comforted by winter’s presence. The snow and everything that comes along with it is the backbone to what I think of as my perfect holiday season.

When I think of my favorite winter artwork, I think of Pieter Bruegel first. Pieter Bruegel the Elder was a Northern Renaissance artist from the Netherlands that painted beautiful landscape scenes. Bruegel became well know for mastering this genre and a few of my favorite pieces are winter landscapes from the 1560s.

bruegel1

bruegel2

bruegel3

 

Holiday festivities are shown in the work January. It isn’t Christmas, but it is a New Year celebration. January was completed by the Limbourg Brothers in a book of hours for the Duke of Berry (Très Riches Heures du Duc de Berry) between 1413 and 1416. It depicts a feast hosted by the Duke which all are invited to in honor of the new year.

©Photo. R.M.N. / R.-G. OjŽda

 

A few more of my favorite winter works are Japanese woodblock prints. This one was completed by Suzuki Harunobu in the mid-1700s. Most of these prints are much more simple and less visually “busy” than the previous mentions, but I love them just the same.

suzuki

 

As for seasonally appropriate art that I actually have displayed around me – there isn’t much. I have some Japanese prints, and some of them are winter scenes, but none of them are currently on my walls or on display. Something I do have up this winter is an LED picture of flickering candles that I got this fall from Amazon.

ledart

 

Do any of you put Christmas or winter artwork on display in addition to your holiday decor? Who are your favorite artists, or what kind of art do you prefer the most?

Leave a Reply

